My family has been a part of this community for years. My grandparents have lived in the same house for over 60 years, my mother was raised here, attended Lincoln elementary on north Canyon and went to Nampa high where she met my father. My extended family have lived in this area for years and all of them attended church and school in Nampa.

I have lived in Nampa for the last 20 years but have never been far from it. I am raising my family here now and I want to continue to raise them in a community that is safe, family-friendly, provides opportunities for recreation and growth, maintains core Christian values, supports continuous learning, and is accepting of various opinions and beliefs.

This is why I am running for city council. I want to help move Nampa continually forward. I see the role of local government as one of support to its citizens. It’s kind of like a garden where local government is the soil… providing the environment to make things grow. Businesses, churches, civic organizations, volunteers, schools, neighborhoods and each individual… all of these are the seeds that will bring forth the many varieties of fruits, vegetables, flowers and even an occasional weed. :)

My point is, city government should provide the stable and fertile groundwork for growth and prosperity to its citizens and then get out of the way. Of all levels of government – federal, state, county and city – city government is where the rubber really meets the road. This is where change can happen very quickly and can be immediately effective.

I look forward to hearing what you have to say.

